Limoncello!

on

There’s hardly any drink that gives me a similar Italian vacation feeling! Since someone told me it’s super easy to make, I had to give it a try.

And in fact: it truly is simple. I had a quick search on various Italian websites how all nonnas and Italian food bloggers make it. The biggest deviation probably is that traditional recipes use pure 80% vol. alcohol, which I found a bit risky (plus I would not know where to get it), so I went with vodka.

INGREDIENTS

10 organic lemons

0.7L vodka (40%vol.)

140g sugar

PREPARATION

  1. Wash the lemons and cut the peel of; be careful not to cut too much of the white skin of, as otherwise the liquor might taste bitter later on
  2. Put the lemon-peel in a jar or bottle and fill up with alcohol until all peels are covered. Seal air-tight and let set in a dark and cool place for at least one month (I did two)
  3. Filter the limoncello base through a tea filter, add the rest of the 0.7L vodka and stir in the sugar until dissolved.
  4. Keep refrigerated and serve in iced glasses
Leave a Reply

